2018 Maine SBA Small Business Award Winners
The winners of the 2018 Maine SBA Small Business Awards. Photo courtesy of SBA Maine District Office.

2018 Maine SBA Small Business Awards

by Scott Wentzell, Director of Marketing

It was a real treat to attend the Maine SBA Small Business Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, May 1 at the Harraseekett Inn in Freeport. The ceremony itself was preceded by a lively networking reception for the hundreds of business owners and staff, entrepreneurs, investors and other supporters of Maine’s thriving entrepreneurial small business community.

It is often said that small businesses are the backbone of the Maine economy, and last night’s awards certainly shined a light on some of the most interesting, creative and successful small businesses from across the state. Our friends Beth Shissler, President and Don Oaks, CEO of Sea Bags were honored together as the Maine Small Business Person of the Year. Sea Bags’ remarkable growth while maintaining a strong commitment to sustainable business practices was cited as a key reason for the honor.

Below is the complete list of the 2018 Maine SBA Small Business Award Winners. There are some fascinating success stories and a wide cross section of industries represented on this list, which reflects the diversity of the Maine small business economy. Congrats to all the winners!


Maine Small Business Person of the Year

Beth Shissler, President & Don Oakes, CEO – Sea Bags, LLC


Maine & New England Home Based Business of the Year

Gneiss Spice – Bethany Weisberger, Owner


Maine & New England Micro Enterprise of the Year

David Jacobson Glass, LLCpratt  – David Jacobson, Owner


Maine Jeffrey Butland Family Owned Business of the Year

Pratt Abbott – David Machesney, Owner


Maine Minority Owned Small Business of the Year

Eastport Family Pharmacy – Benjamin Okafor, Owner


Maine Small Business Exporter of the Year

Arcast, Inc. – Rayland O’Neal & Sasha Long, Owners


Maine Small Business Manufacturers of the Year

Good To-Go, LLC – Jennifer Scism & David Koorits, Owners


Maine Veteran Owned Small Business of the Year

LAW Calibration, LLC – Louis Waterhouse, Owner


Maine Woman Owned Business of the Year

The SunriseGuide, LLC – Heather Chandler, Owner


Maine Young Entrepreneurs of the Year

Bumbleroot Organic Farm, LLC – Melissa Law, Benjamin Whalen, Abigail Fisher, & Jeffrey Fisher, Owners


Maine SBDC Excellence and Innovations Center Award

Joshua Nadeau, Center Director & Business Advisor


Maine Financial Services Champion of the Year

Sandra Stone, Chair Emerita of Maine Angels


Maine Economic Development Champion

Mary Ellen Barnes, Executive Director, Lincoln County Regional Planning Commission

Share The Inspiration