In The Community

NRCM's 2017 Conservation Leadership Awards

Maine is known and loved for its beautiful lands, lakes, rivers, and coastline—and we owe a lot to the individuals who have helped protect these natural resources. Each year, NRCM recognizes several of those who have made significant, lasting contributions to safeguarding our environment.

Hosted at the Maine Maritime Museum in Bath, the 2017 Conservation Leadership Award Recipients are: David L. Courtemanch (Mt. Vernon), Lifetime Achievement Award, for his deep knowledge of and dedication to protecting Maine’s waters. Tony Giambro and Travis Ritchie, of Paris Autobarn (South Paris) for their outstanding citizen and business leadership on climate and energy issues. Martha Spiess (Freeport) for her work as a citizen activist/videographer volunteering hundreds of hours of video production for environmental protection. 2017 People’s Choice Award winners: Addie Farmer and Lainey Randall (Portland) for their work to keep plastics and other pollution out of Casco Bay.

Sponsored by Maine Magazine

Photography by Dave Dostie

1 2 3